The best dressed runner at the 2013 Pittsburgh Marathon 5K

I’ve said it before: the best part of having this website is the awesome people that I have met through it. This weekend, I got to meet IN PERSON three people I’ve previously only known online.

Running Haiku‘s Charla came all the way from Seattle. Stride and Joy‘s Tracey and her husband, Andrew, are in from Boston.

They are in town for the Pittsburgh Marathon!

While we are all registered for the half marathon tomorrow, Andrew was also registered for this morning’s 5K. We had plans to meet near the start line. And guess what?

ANDREW SHOWS UP FOR THE RACE IN JORTS!! How great is that? Besides being super-impressed with Pittsburgh and telling me how much you love it, this is next in line for the best way to make me happy.

HappyJill

Andrew

Look at that form!

Andrew2

Supporting his hometown in his Boston Marathon shirt.

Andrew3

Post-race looking like he didn’t even run!

He had a great run with no reports of chafing. I am officially his biggest fan.

After today’s 5K, Andrew is now a “Runner of Steel.” Charla, Tracey, and I will hopefully earn our titles tomorrow. Send prayers and good vibes our way.

RunnerOfSteel

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. This is AWESOME. Great photos, Jill, Charla, and random strangers! Oh, and did I mention I am super-impressed with Pittsburgh. ;) Running on expo fumes right now. See you soon!

    Reply
  2. We haven’t even gotten to race day yet but this weekend has already exceeded expectations, and I’m not just talking about the johns. At this point, I don’t even care if I trip and fall on my face tomorrow. Thank you for the excellent time!

    Reply
  3. Mary

     /  May 4, 2013

    Have a great time and good luck to all of you! I’ll be cheering you all on from Philly :)

    Reply
  4. good luck to you and me and to everyone for tomorrow’s run.. you in impressive Pittsburgh, moi, here in beautiful Vancouver!! GO, JILL, GO, GO GO!! :)

    Reply
  5. LOL I love it!

    I can’t wait to hear how you did, my fellow Runner of Steel! :-)

    Reply
  6. congratulations!!!!! I I can’t wait to read your recap. I love that pic of you! Maybe next year, I’ll come home and earn the Runner of Steel title with you! :)

    Reply
  7. I love all of this!

    (Also, I’m a little jealous, it sounds like such a great time with such a great group of bloggers!) :-)

    Reply
  1. Two days in Pittsburgh (with a half-marathon in there somewhere) | Stride and Joy

The REALLY awesome people leave comments.

