Looks can be deceiving…

My Chuck Norris kicks ass IN JEANS post prompted me to look for other ways denim-wear has been modified beyond adding a gusset (bam!). I have learned one important thing: It is possible that the people you see jogging and exercising in jeans are NOT REALLY wearing jeans. “Huh?” you say. Well, My Friends, there is a growing trend in jean-inspired athletic and lounge wear.

Here is what you may ACTUALLY be seeing when you THINK you are seeing denim:

1.   Pajama Jeans. When they first came out, I was sure that Pajama Jeans were a pop culture joke. They’ve been around for long enough to squash that theory, right? The infomercial states:

……The style of your favorite jeans, together with the comfort of pajamas!

……Just because you’re busy doesn’t mean you can’t look sharp!

If you are looking to buy, you have a choice to make: flaired or skinny!

2.    Jeggings. These are leggings that look like jeans. Conan O’Brian modeled these on his show last December.

.3.    Hybrid jeans/sweatpants

Diesel’s Jogg Jeans. From their “Secret Laboratory”:

Jogg Jeans are a unique fusion of design and groundbreaking new fabrics that combine the iconic style and durability of denim, with the relaxed attitude and comfort of jogging pants.

 

Dolce & Gabbana has a version priced at a mere $330 (!).

And good ol’ Levi’s  with their Elasticated Track Bottom Jeans

4.    Yoga Jeans by Second Denim Company. The site offers 67 (!) styles of jean-inspired yoga pants including a few corduroy styles. Corduroy!

So, Readers, are there any products I missed in this new niche market? What do you think of these jean-inspired clothes? Are you brave enough to admit that you considered purchasing any of them? 🙂

________________________________________________________________________________________

UPCOMING: On a whim, after writing this post, I wrote to the companies to see if they would send me a sample of their product to review on the site. Within MINUTES of sending an email to Second Denim, a representative responded and agreed to send out a pair of Yoga Jeans. I can hardly wait to get them!

But in the meantime, I am sorry to say that I had to delete all my hilarious (if I do say so myself) comments I had written in this post and am making every effort to clear my mental slate of opinions so that my review(s) can be objective. Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Suzanne

     /  November 16, 2011

    For $330 you could get 3 pairs of the GOOD running pants, but I guess The Situation needs something to go to the gym in. Can’t wait to read the review of Jogas (is that what they are called? Because they should be!).

    Reply
  2. From what I can gather, people are referring to them as “yoga jeans.” But totally copyright the term “jogas” because that is a awesome name for them! You got your documentation for “first use” of the term right here on JoggingJeans.com! [bangs gavel]

    Reply
  3. hahaha…okay, first off, i’m a big team coco fan so props for that inclusion! 🙂

    second, i will sound kinda mean here, but don’t get me started on pajama jeans. could it be the ‘fat people’s’ answer to wearing jeans. isn’t one of the commercials saying that the biggest benefit is not having to worry about the size of ur jeans. now, i’m all for finding comfy pants, but if u can’t fit in ur pants maybe it’s time to just do a little more running?? 😉

    Reply
  1. What the…? « JoggingJeans

The REALLY awesome people leave comments.

