Reason #4 why people jog in jeans: its a cultural thing, yo

Over the past few months, numerous people have sent me links to pictures on blogs that are about someone’s missionary trip or adventure to some other part of the world. As a part of these blog posts, there are, invariably, pictures of people are running in jeans.

It never felt right to post these pictures because – let’s face it – who am I to judge? I’m not at these races; I don’t know the culture of these far off places. Hell, I don’t even know where half of the places are located on a map. And the bloggers who are in these countries are not all, “Haha, look at that one dude running in jeans.” but rather, “I was surprised at all the dudes and dudettes running in jeans.” (I might be paraphrasing.)

And while I feel comfortable smirking at you and whipping out my camera if you are running down the streets of Pittsburgh IN JEANS (because Abby said it best, that’s “bat crap crazy”), I will not put on display someone doing something in a culture that I know nothing about. That’s how I roll.

Except for this one time. 

Number 4 on our list of reasons why someone would jog in jeans: their culture says that it is perfectly normal.

Some examples:

At a starting line in Amman, Jordon via Habibti Katie

At a race in Kenya via Word and Deed

In Abu Dhabi via Rural Route Runner

And that concludes our cultural sensitivity lesson for today on JoggingJeans.com. Tune in next time for the fifth and final reason why people jog in jeans! Can you guess what it is?

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I don’t care what anyone says. Jogging in jeans in Abu Dhabi in summer can NOT be comfortable no matter how you slice it….

    Reply
    • The post says the race was in February. So there is that. 🙂

      Reply
      • I was curious and looked up average temps in AD in Feb…

        Temperature
        Max Temperature 77 °F
        Mean Temperature 68 °F
        Min Temperature 59 °F

        I guess 68 must be considered cold over there? =P

        Reply

The REALLY awesome people leave comments.

