The truth about Josher (the guy who wrote the jean-wearing race recap)

I have to admit that I had an ulterior motive in having Josher write a jean-wearing race recap. I wanted you to meet him and love him before I ask something HUGE of you. The huge thing? I need four and a half minutes of your time. I’m asking you to take a few minutes to REALLY meet the guy who posted his jean-wearing recap yesterday.

Meet Josher. He has done some pretty amazing things in his life. For example, he did a little something called losing half his body weight through running!

As a favor to me, I’m asking you to pause and watch a few minutes of this video.

Amazing, right?

Unfortunately, his mom has recently been diagnosed with breast cancer and he just began a campaign to raise money for the Huntsman Cancer Institute through Huntsman Hometown Heros. His campaign?

That is right. If Josher raises $1000, he will run the Salt Lake City Half Marathon on April 21, 2012 in full denim. FULL DENIM. Do you know what this means? Jeans, probably a jean jacket, a denim shirt maybe. If anyone can think of other denim-clothing item ideas that he can wear, leave a comment and we’ll see what we can do about getting them for him. Hey, Laura of Crafting Joy, any ideas? Josher would LOVE to be a recipient of a denim creation. 🙂

To summarize, here is why you should give up a day or two or three of your coffee money:

1. Cancer sucks. And we NEED a cure. If breast cancer hasn’t touched you or someone close to you yet, it is only a matter of time.

2. A couple of bucks to Huntsman Cancer Institute matters. Your $10 and the other person’s $5 and another person’s $20 really will make a difference.

3. Josher will run the Salt Lake City FULL DENIM if his goal is reached. Do you know what kind of joy he will bring us by doing that? He is allowing us, JoggingJeans.com viewers, to define “full denim.” Leave a comment with your denim running ideas.

4. BONUS: An email to me telling me that you donated will get your name or link to your blog on the bottom of every JoggingJeans.com post from now until the race.

So please consider throwing a few dollars to this great cause. Isn’t it about time that JoggingJeans.com does something bigger than just humiliating people by posting pictures of them jogging in jeans?  You’ll be doing something good and, as a bonus, we will all get to view pictures of a guy running a HALF MARATHON in full denim. FULL DENIM!!

Click here, donate now. I’ll love you forever if you do.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. @inmyheadspace

     /  March 20, 2012

    Josher- your story is inspiring, amazing and I just want to give you a big old hug! I lost both parents to cancer by the time I was 33 and 1 sister is a BC survivor. What you are doing for your mom is bringing me to tears. I know you will reach your goal. Please make sure there is some stone washed 80’s denim in the mix when you run! I will keep your mom in my prayers.
    Jill- you are doing a great thing here! This is why you made this blog 5 months ago. You just didn’t know it then :0)

    Reply
    • Thanks, Mary! I’ve actually been thinking about how I can turn this blog into “something good” for awhile now…then I met Josher!

      Reply
    • Awe shucks! Thanks for the love you two! 🙂

      I can only imagine how it is to lose your parents to cancer. There is an unbreakable bond to our parents and family that can’t be broken. I knew once my Mom was diagnosed with breast cancer that I couldn’t just stand still. I had to keep running!

      Thank you so much for the thoughts and prayers! They are all felt and welcomed!

      Reply
  2. Thanks for the love and any contribution you can make! It all really does make a difference!

    You can check out more information about the campaign at this link (http://www.mejosher.com/p/denim-for-cure.html) on my blog MeJosher.com.

    Reply
  3. Josher your story is inspiring in and of itself–and your drive to help your mom is even more inspiring. Jill, inmyheadspace is on to something. What you are doing with your blog is great!

    I’m sure there’s some kind of stretch denim headband out there somewhere Josher can add to his outfit. Running in full denim. Jeez. That’s maybe the most inspiring thing of all. 🙂

    Reply
  4. Denim cruelty
    Don’t want to cause Josher pain
    Guilty for giving

    Reply
    • Oh don’t feel guilty
      He’s looking forward to it
      Running in denim

      A million thank you’s
      For your kindness, thoughtfulness,
      Generosity

      Reply

The REALLY awesome people leave comments.

